Reaper’s Fire by Joanna Wylde

Reaper’s Fire by Joanna WyldeReaper's Fire by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #6
Published by Berkley on August 9, 2016
Pages: 381 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Library
Goodreads
four-stars

The club comes first.

I’ve lived by those words my whole life—assumed I’d die by them, too, and I never had a problem with that. My Reaper brothers took my back and I took theirs and it was enough. Then I met her. Tinker Garrett. She’s beautiful, she’s loyal, and she works so damned hard it scares me sometimes . . . She deserves a good man—one better than me. I can’t take her yet because the club still needs me. There’s another woman, another job, another fight just ahead.

Now she’ll learn I’ve been lying to her all along. None of it’s real. Not my name, not my job, not even the clothes I wear. She thinks I’m nice. She pretends we’re just friends, that I’ve still got a soul . . . Mine’s been dead for years. Now I’m on fire for this woman, and a man can only burn for so long before he destroys everything around him.

I’m coming for you, Tinker.

Soon.

Seeing as I couldn’t remember which story I left off with Joanna Wylde’s MC series I sort of had to dive into Reaper’s Fire without any guides and helpers. Also, at the time I began Reaper’s Fire I was attempting to do a series re-read but stopped when it came to Liam’s story (I wasn’t a huge fan of the heroine) so the taste I had for this series sort of died down.

Reaper’s Fire was unexpectedly good. I couldn’t remember who Gage was but it felt good to get his story along with the other well-known brothers of the Reapers. It was the heroine and her story that really sold this installment in Wylde’s Reapers MC series for me because I didn’t really know Gage and I wasn’t liking what was being revealed of his character from the beginning of Reaper’s Fire.

Tinker Garrett’s character was very attractive and added substance to Reaper’s Fire, but when it came to her relationship with Gage I really felt that her character suffered. Since she was supposed to end up with Gage her reactions and responses didn’t seem genuine. For example, when it was known that no matter how Gage might’ve expressed his attraction to Tinker he continually went back to his girlfriend, whether he was just biding his time to finish his assignment or not, Tinker should’ve left him the heck alone but because she was supposed to end up with Gage there was a lot of forgiving and tolerant behavior being shown. I would’ve enjoyed Gage and Tinker’s dance if maybe there more time for both Tinker to grow and Gage to get clear of his less than stellar entanglements with the club that was stealing from the Reapers.

I loved the imagery of Reaper’s Fire, which shocked me because any type of imagery usually isn’t my cup of tea. I loved the descriptions and visual settings Wylde described because the scenery looked beautiful in my minds eye. I’ve never been to Idaho, and I hate to admit that I constantly forget that there are states between Washington and Colorado; all of the stories I’ve read that focused on either Washington state or Colorado helps with my forgetfulness. Because of Reaper’s Fire though, I want to visit Idaho, it sounds absolutely beautiful.

About Joanna Wylde

Joanna Wylde started her writing career in journalism, working in two daily newspapers as both a reporter and editor. Her career has included many different jobs, from managing a homeless shelter to running her own freelance writing business, where she took on projects ranging from fundraising to ghostwriting for academics. During 2012 she got her first Kindle reader as a gift and discovered the indie writing revolution taking place online. Not long afterward she started cutting back her client list to work on Reaper’s Property, her breakout book. It was published in January 2013, marking the beginning of a new career writing fiction.

Joanna lives in the mountains of northern Idaho with her family.

Archangel’s Viper by Nalini Singh

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Archangel’s Viper by Nalini SinghArchangel's Viper by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #10
Published by Berkley on September 26, 2017
Pages: 400 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Publisher
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Once a broken girl known as Sorrow, Holly Chang now prowls the shadowy gray underground of the city for the angels. But it’s not her winged allies who make her a wanted woman—it’s the unknown power coursing through her veins. Brutalized by an insane archangel, she was left with the bloodlust of a vampire, the ability to mesmerize her prey, and a poisonous bite.

Now, someone has put a bounty on her head…

Venom is one of the Seven, Archangel Raphael’s private guard, and he’s as infuriating as he is seductive. A centuries-old vampire, his fangs dispense a poison deadlier than Holly’s. But even if Venom can protect Holly from those hunting her, he might not be able to save himself—because the strange, violent power inside Holly is awakening…

No one is safe.

It seriously took me a minute to remember if Viper was Venom’s name, but I think my confusion came from the rarity of characters and book titles that start with the letter ‘V.’ Anyway, Archangel’s Viper was somewhat different than the other secondary character stories within the Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh. I wanted to chalk up how I felt about this difference as a bad thing because I am sometimes a stickler for things staying the same even though I love change, but when I tapped to the last page I couldn’t help but totally dig the overall story of Archangel’s Viper.

Out of all Raphael’s Seven, Venom, Demetrius, Jason, Adohan have been the ones I’ve been most fascinated by. With Jason and Demetrius already having their stories told I am glad that Venom was next up. While his background story wasn’t as elaborate as Demetrius and Jason’s, it definitely explained the ins and outs of everything Viper, especially his character from the current books. For some odd reason I was expecting his background to harbor more dangers and conflicts than the angst that was revealed. Again, I’m all for change but my default response is always expecting things to turn out or work out the way previous situations/character stories have worked; I’m usually proven right but I relish those moments when things work out differently as it did with Archangel’s Viper.

As much as I love Venom’s character, Holly made Archangel’s Viper that book for me. I’ve been curious about the evolution of her character ever since her debut in Angel’s Blood. I absolutely loved how spectacularly Archangel’s Viper tied up the story arc from Angel’s Blood, my mind was even blown with how everything transpired.

I will say that every heroine we’ve had in the Guild Hunter series by Singh hasn’t been able to match my likability level for Elena, and that’s perfectly okay that they don’t, but if I was to do a rating I would say that after Elena it would definitely be Holly and then Demetrius’ wife. The mystery that surrounded her character, as well as how she just went about living her life even with her future being  a huge question mark made her an instant favorite. From her style, to her personality it was super easy to want for her to have a HEA towards the end of Archangel’s Viper.

I don’t know why I was skeptical about reading Archangel’s Viper, especially since I just finished, or caught up on Singh’s Psy-Changeling series, but I really had to push myself to dive into this story. The leap of faith seriously paid off, from the drama from the events in Angel’s Blood to learning about the intricate details of Venom’s background and making, to Holly’s present and possible future, and to the set up of the next installment of Singh’s Guild Hunter series, I was content. I sincerely hope that Adohan’s story is next but I have a feeling with some of the hints dropped and things hinted to that Illuim’s story might be next. No complaints here but I think that he’s such a favorite and he’s gets enough page time that one of the less mentioned and more mysterious characters should be next lol. I don’t know, as always the decision of the next installment is as always up to the author and creator, Nalini Singh.

About Nalini Singh

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated frequently).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

Reaper’s Legacy by Joanna Wylde

Reaper’s Legacy by Joanna WyldeReaper's Legacy by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #2
Published by Berkley on January 28, 2014
Pages: 368 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Eight years ago, Sophie gave her heart-and her virginity-to Zach Barrett on a night that couldn't have been less romantic or more embarrassing. Zach's step-brother, a steely-muscled, tattooed biker named Ruger, caught them in the act, getting a peep show of Sophie he's never forgotten.

She may have lost her dignity that fateful night, but Sophie also gained something precious-her son Noah. Unfortunately, Zach's a deadbeat dad, leaving Ruger to be Noah's only male role model. When he discovers Sophie and his nephew living in near poverty, Ruger takes matters into his own hands-with the help of the Reapers Motorcycle Club-to give them a better life.

Living with outlaw bikers wasn't Sophie's plan for her son, but Ruger isn't giving her a choice. He'll be there for Noah, whether she wants him or not. But Sophie does want him, has always wanted him. Now she'll learn that taking a biker to bed can get a girl dirty in every way.

I can’t believe that I loved Reaper’s Legacy more than Reaper’s Property when I first read them. If it wasn’t Sophie getting on my nerves, then it was the cat and mouse game that Ruger and Sophie played with each other. I must need my head checked out because despite these irritants I really ended up loving the overall story of Reaper’s Legacy.

Immediately, as Reaper’s Legacy began you are hip to the tension and agitation that both Ruger and Sophie have for each other, but underneath all of that is the sexual tension that is the timeless pull between these two. I adored the fact that there was a kid mixed in with this story simply because it brings about an entirely new level to all characters involved, if that makes sense. I loved how both Sophie and Ruger loved Noah and the lengths they were willing to go to to make sure that he was well taken care of, even if that meant they had to pull the others head out of their butt to make it happen.

Since y’all already know my feelings towards Sophie, which really didn’t change until close to the end of Reaper’s Legacy, I want to talk about Ruger a little since he’s been such a star player in these first two installments of Joanna Wylde’s Reapers MC series.

For the first time in my literary life, it wasn’t Ruger’s physical appearance that attracted me to his character. If anything it was the way he carried himself and the knowledge he kept dropping all over the pages of Reaper’s Legacy that made him an instant favorite (sort of like Knight from KA’s Unfinished Heroes series). While he wasn’t perfect, he was the catalyst that helped Sophie pretty much move on from that immature teen mom to the woman that I felt was worthy of someone like Ruger.

Usually when a hero is dealt a crappy hand, the scars have a way of making them into the men we read about, but I don’t fully believe that was the case for Ruger simply because he never saw his past as a hindrance. In his opinion he had no scars to speak of nor any hang ups to combat, and for the first time ever I can honestly say that he didn’t. He really took things in stride and other than the regrets he had when it cane to Sophie he loved life and all that came with it.

Gah! I love Ruger’s character for more than what went on in Reaper’s Legacy and Reaper’s Property, he’s just a special literary individual that I’ll always remember.

About Joanna Wylde

Joanna Wylde started her writing career in journalism, working in two daily newspapers as both a reporter and editor. Her career has included many different jobs, from managing a homeless shelter to running her own freelance writing business, where she took on projects ranging from fundraising to ghostwriting for academics. During 2012 she got her first Kindle reader as a gift and discovered the indie writing revolution taking place online. Not long afterward she started cutting back her client list to work on Reaper’s Property, her breakout book. It was published in January 2013, marking the beginning of a new career writing fiction.

Joanna lives in the mountains of northern Idaho with her family.

Allegiance of Honor by Nalini Singh

Allegiance of Honor by Nalini SinghAllegiance of Honor by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #15
Published by Berkley on June 14, 2016
Pages: 492 pages
Format: Kindle
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The Psy-Changeling world has undergone a staggering transformation and now stands at a crossroads. The Trinity Accord promises a new era of cooperation between disparate races and groups. It is a beacon of hope held together by many hands: Old enemies. New allies. Wary loners.

But a century of distrust and suspicion can’t be so easily forgotten and threatens to shatter Trinity from within at any moment. As rival members vie for dominance, chaos and evil gather in the shadows and a kidnapped woman’s cry for help washes up in San Francisco, while the Consortium turns its murderous gaze toward a child who is the embodiment of change, of love, of piercing hope: A child who is both Psy…and changeling.

To find the lost, protect the vulnerable—and save Trinity—no one can stand alone. This is a time of loyalty across divisions, of bonds woven into the heart and the soul, of heroes known and unknown standing back to back and holding the line. But is an allegiance of honor even possible with traitors lurking in their midst?

I have to admit that I was sadden when starting Allegiance of Honor. This sadness had nothing to do with Nalini Singh’s note at the end of Shards of Hope or the one at the beginning of Allegiance of Honor. It’s just that its story represents the end of a chapter that has been part of my reading life for a long time.

After being supplied with action filled story after action filled story I felt a smidgen of disappointment at how toned down Allegiance of Honor was. The stories before this installment was full of all types of changes and hype that I seriously thought that Allegiance of Honor would carry the same tone.

In hindsight I’m glad for Singh’s decision to tone down this story, the second chapter of her Psy-Changeling series needed to be able to come out strong and if Allegiance of Honor went off with a bang then…idk it just wouldn’t have been as anticipated, I don’t think.

Regardless of my bratty response, Allegiance of Honor was ah-mazing. It, I believe, touched on a slice of life from every couple we’ve met so far, which is something we haven’t had since the earlier books in the Psy-Changeling series. I loved how Singh tied every situation and character/character couple storyline up perfectly, but Allegiance of Honor seriously felt like a goodbye to all that these characters have been through since before Slave to Sensation.

I am apprehensive about Silver Silence because I’m simply not ready to leave behind this first chapter *crying internally*.

About Nalini Singh

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated frequently).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.

Shards of Hope by Nalini Singh

Shards of Hope by Nalini SinghShards of Hope by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #14
Published by Berkley on December 29, 2015
Pages: 500 pages
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Awakening wounded in a darkened cell, their psychic abilities blocked, Aden and Zaira know they must escape. But when the lethal soldiers break free from their mysterious prison, they find themselves in a harsh, inhospitable landscape far from civilization. Their only hope for survival is to make it to the hidden home of a predatory changeling pack that doesn’t welcome outsiders.

And they must survive. A shadowy enemy has put a target on the back of the Arrow squad, an enemy that cannot be permitted to succeed in its deadly campaign. Aden will cross any line to keep his people safe for this new future, where even an assassin might have hope of a life beyond blood and death and pain. Zaira has no such hope. She knows she’s too damaged to return from the abyss. Her driving goal is to protect Aden, protect the only person who has ever come back for her no matter what.

This time, even Aden’s passionate determination may not be enough—because the emotionless chill of Silence existed for a reason. For the violent, and the insane, and the irreparably broken…like Zaira.

Just like with Shield of Winter I didn’t know what to expect with Shards of Hope. I also didn’t want to get my hopes up if it by chance ended up turning out like Heart of Obsidian. When I read the synopsis my eyebrows raised in wonder and a little bit of shock that Aiden and Zaira were the focal couple of Shards of Hope. My wonder and trust in Nalini Singh’s writing, and the fact that she hasn’t let me down and I didn’t think she would start with Aiden’s story, was enough for me to dive in.

Both Zaira and Aiden’s characters, story, and background pulled at my heart stings. From their childhoods, training situations, and struggles in trying to navigate through of this new area of life all Arrows are having to experience my emotions were totally invested. But since Zaira and Aden, along with Vasic, reside as the face, or head, of the Arrows, it was particularly tough to see them struggle and still have to put forth a strong front.

There was a time when reading in series installment order wasn’t a priority, but I have to say that in going in order with the Psy-Changeling series I am gaining so much more insight than I know I would’ve if I would’ve continued out of order starting with Kiss of Snow. If I had just jumped into Silver Silence when I received it I would’ve been completely lost, and would’ve either given up or missed the entirety of its story and what it contributed to the Psy-Changeling world.

With all that said I can’t wait to jump into Allegiance of Honor and see how Singh closes out this chapter of the Psy-Changeling series.

About Nalini Singh

I was born in Fiji and raised in New Zealand. I also spent three years living and working in Japan, during which time I took the chance to travel around Asia. I’m back in New Zealand now, but I’m always plotting new trips. If you’d like to see some of my travel snapshots, have a look at the Travel Diary page (updated frequently).

So far, I’ve worked as a lawyer, a librarian, a candy factory general hand, a bank temp and an English teacher and not necessarily in that order. Some might call that inconsistency but I call it grist for the writer’s mill.

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember and all of my stories always held a thread of romance (even when I was writing about a prince who could shoot lasers out of his eyes). I love creating unique characters, love giving them happy endings and I even love the voices in my head. There’s no other job I would rather be doing. In September 2002, when I got the call that Silhouette Desire wanted to buy my first book, Desert Warrior, it was a dream come true. I hope to continue living the dream until I keel over of old age on my keyboard.